Plot arcs- The Basics

As I’m currently plotting for my fantasy trilogy Sunder, it’s an ideal time to recap on Plot arcs. There will be a follow on blog regarding plotting posted tomorrow. Happy reading.

neilsehmbhy

Plot Arc’s are an important aspect of your novel.

The eight points of plot arcs are below.

  1. Stasis
  2. Trigger
  3. The quest
  4. Surprise
  5. Key choice
  6. Climax
  7. Reversal
  8. Resolution

Every classic plot will pass through these stages personally I don’t use them to plan a story, but instead use the points during my normal writing process, Nigel Watts’ in his novelWriting A Novel and Getting Published does the same.

I find [the eight-point arc] most useful as a checklist against which to measure a work in progress. If I sense a story is going wrong, I see if I’ve unwittingly missed out a stage of the eight-point arc. It may not guarantee you write a brilliant story, but it will help you avoid some of the pitfalls of a brilliant idea gone wrong.

Let’s look at each point and see what it means.

Stasis

Normal“every day life”  before any conflict…

View original post 643 more words

Leave a Reply

