M.I.A

image

Good Morning Kilian.

The words faint and echoing woke me,  seeming fuzzy to my ears as I clawed myself awake. My limbs ache and groan as if they were remembering how to move again after an eternity of slumber. Pushing myself up I sit on the edge of the cot, legs dangling over the side as I force my eyes to open under the artificial lights.

Looking around the room I take in the sparse surroundings. Clean crisp white walls,  black tiled floor and the biggest goddamn mirror opposite me. Apart from the cot and a circular white table in the centre of the room there was nothing else of note.

‘Where the hell am I?’

GOOD MORNING KILIAN.’

‘Good Morning. Where am I? How did I get here?’

‘DO YOU REMEMBER WHO YOU ARE?’REMEMBER WHAT HAPPENED? ‘

‘Course I remember.. I’m. .I’m… ‘

‘YOUR COMM..’

‘Wait.  I know this. Just give me a minute alright.’

‘OF COURSE. IF THAT’S WHAT YOU WISH.’

It takes me a few moments to collect my thoughts and gather the pale fragments of my consciousness, patching them together. Piece by piece slowly it starts to come back to me.  A dull memory of who I was. Who I am.

‘I’m Commander James Kilian. 3rd Light Infantry. Her majesty’s Armed Forces. Yes that’s me. ‘
As I said the words I felt more sure of myself more solid.

‘YES IT SEEMS YOU REMEMBER COMMANDER.’

‘Wait a minute. I was dying. Why aren’t I dead? My heart was failing me.  Skin and flesh were peeling away from my bones. I was wasting away. Why am I not dead?  Did you heal me?’

‘YOU HAVE BEEN ASLEEP FOR A LONG TIME COMMANDER. A COMA ACTUALLY.’

‘A Coma? Fucking hell.  I mean. . How long was I in a coma for?  Where am I ? Where’s Libby? Where’s my wife? ‘

‘A LONG TIME COMMANDER AND YOUR WIFE IS NOT HERE I’M AFRAID. THE FEDERATION IS HOLDING YOU HERE UNDER QUARANTINE UNTIL WE DEEM YOU SAFE.’

‘What?  I demand to see my wife. Quarantine?  What do you meant? Quarantine for fucking what? Wait a minute what Federation? Am I a POW? ‘

‘PLEASE SIT DOWN COMMANDER.  BEING AGGRESSIVE WON’T HELP.’

That’s when I realise I’m standing fists clenched shouting at a voice I can’t see. The sudden movement as my heart pounds makes me light headed and I sit down shakily. Any strength born of anger flees my limbs and I lay back down again. The room is spinning. Closing my eyes I clutch the side of the bed to stop the room swaying and fade into blackness.

Day 4…..

It’s been 4 days since I woke up, and I’ve still not seen another person.  That voice keeps speaking to me intermittently.  There’s a hatch by the table and a bell pings just before its time to eat. Just like Pavlov’s dog. Four squares a day. The weird thing is once you explore the room,  there’s loads of stuff hidden away, nice and tidy. I guess whomever is holding me here doesn’t think that my Army training is worth much. There’s knives,  toys,  games and even this video camera.
I’m keeping a diary now just to make sure I’ve captured everything. There encouraging it in fact. They still won’t tell me how long I was out for. How long I was in that coma.  And conveniently the date stamp isn’t working on the camcorder. 

I’m still weak as day old puppy but my blackouts are getting less frequent now. After the first blackout I slept for almost 12hrs solid. Can’t remember the last time I had so much time to sleep.

I think I’m keeping it together now. Holding onto my temper. But it’s there all the same barely held in check.

Day 54

It’s been nearly 8 weeks since I woke up  locked up all alone in this cell. I’m past anger or frustration now,  just resigned to my new life.
They test me in my sleep, I know they do. Even though I try to stay awake I eventually succumb to tiredness and that’s when it happens. Pale figures manipulate me as I lie there, drugged up by God knows what.  One time I woke whilst they were here,  paralysed but still able to see and hear. A fleeting glimpse of elongated limbs and huge glossy eyes greeted me, before the lights died. When they came back on,  I was alone. What ever they are I’ll get past them, get free and escape. Its thet only thing that I can hold onto.

This was a brief snippet I came up with half asleep last night. The dream seems infinitely better than the written word in this case. Not sure if Sci Fi is my thing.

Leave a Reply

